Easy Rhubarb Carrot Muffins

Written by Aloura DiGiallonardo

I have made a habit of showing up at the Saturday Market before it actually opens. Although it means rising early on a Saturday, I get the first pick of all the farmer’s market goodies and chat with people working the stands. This week my early arrival at the market resulted in two major bonuses:
1. Strawberries. That is all I should have to say here because, well, they are strawberries… and obviously delicious.
2. A sample and recipe from Camas Country Mills that inspired me to make carrot rhubarb muffins.

The woman I spoke to told me the muffins were carrot rhubarb, but she gave me a carrot apple recipe instead. I tweaked the recipe a bit because I only had one apple and a bunch of rhubarb in my kitchen by the time I realized it. It worked out well. The rhubarb gives a tart kick to the muffin. If you aren’t into rhubarb or tartness try it with a heaping cup of grated apple instead.

You will need:
2 cups shredded carrots
1 cup chopped and peeled rhubarb
1 small apple graded
2 cups Hard White Wheat Flour
3/4 C. sugar
3/4 t. baking soda
1. 1/2 t. baking power
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. cinnamon (I lways add more than because I love cinnamon)
1/2 t. ginger
3 eggs
1. t vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Grease muffin pan or insert liners
Grate apple and carrots.
Peel and chop rhubarb, then set aside
Mix dry ingredients in a bowl
In another bowl mix the wet ingredients including the carrot, apple and rhubarb
Combined the wet and dry ingredients until throughly mixed.
Divide among the muffin cups and bake for 15-20 minutes.
I would like to give thanks again to Camas Country Mills for inspiring my seasonal dish this week and encourage you all to try it! Also if you have other ideas of how to use rhubarb comment below!  I was able to get the flour, eggs, rhubarb, and carrots from the Saturday market so it was all really fresh! I baked mine for 20 minutes and they were a little dry, so keep an eye on your muffins!  Enjoy!
5 thoughts on “Easy Rhubarb Carrot Muffins

  1. Pingback: Grandma’s Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie « muncho mom

    • I think once I hit my 20s my tolerance for sugar went way down. I like to load my baked goods with fiber- flax, squash, fruit, whole wheat flour, etc. We will be posting lots of new recipes this winter. What kind of recipes do you want to see more of?

Leave a Reply

