Fall Time is Food Time: Raw Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Autumn has arrived in Eugene, Oregon once again, bringing with it the unmistakable feeling of food nostalgia. I find myself delighting in the color changes and the cold; the crisp air pairs perfectly with the warming spices of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. This is the season where connecting with our food has become an American tradition and, as the nights become colder, we find comfort in allowing our senses to indulge in the sweet familiarity of holiday cooking.

As pumpkins began appearing at local stores, I started fantasizing about all of the exciting ways I could begin incorporating pumpkin into my recipes–pumpkin cupcakes, pumpkin chai, pumpkin bread. Then I remembered grub goal number thirteen from our blog post, 21 Grub Goals of the Slow Food Blog Team. This fall, I decided to challenge myself to create a raw pumpkin pie recipe from scratch.

When it comes to preparing raw food, I’m quite confident in the kitchen. If you understand the basics of raw food recipes, you can easily dream up your own creative concoctions. I knew that a basic pie crust for raw pies was a balanced combination of raw nuts and raw medjool dates. For the filling, I knew that I would need some coconut oil, which is solid at room temperature, to hold it together while it’s being sliced. As for the pumpkin and the other ingredients that I incorporated into the filling, I used my intuition as well as my taste buds to determine the appropriate amounts. The finished product was exactly what I hoped it would be–delicious.

Pie Crust:
2 1/2 cups hazelnuts
12 pitted medjool dates

Pie Filling:
1 15 oz. can organic pumpkin (uncooked)
1/2 cup unrefined coconut oil
4 pitted medjool dates
3/4 cup raw milk of your choice (I used homemade almond milk)
2 tbsp raw coconut nectar
2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

I used 15 oz. of uncooked, canned, organic pumpkin in my filling. You can also experiment with cutting your own pumpkin to use in your pie. The pumpkin pie spice I used was from Mountain Rose Herbs’ culinary line, Epicurean Organics.

In a food processor, begin the crust by blending 2 1/2 cups of hazelnuts until the texture is crumbly, not powdery. If you’d like, you can use any nut of your choice. I choze hazelnuts for their slightly buttery flavor. Next, add the dates and blend for several minutes until the nuts are evenly combined with the dates. Use coconut oil to lightly “grease” a nine-inch pie dish and press the crust mixture firmly and evenly into the bottom and sides of the dish. You will probably have some extra crust that you can use later to sprinkle on top of your pie slices or on top of another dessert of your choosing. When you’re done, place the finished crust in the refrigerator while you prepare the filling.

Wash the food processor bowl and thoroughly dry it. Combine all of the ingredients for the pie filling, in no particular order, in the food processor until completely smooth. The filling should be slightly thick, but thin enough that it will pour easily into the pie dish. Take the pie dish out and scoop all of the filling into the pie pan. Place the pie in the freezer for at least three hours before you serve it. My estimation is that it will keep well in the freezer for about a week. I wouldn’t store it in the refrigerator because the filling will likely become soft and unmanageable. Also, you’ll want to make sure that you set the pie out to let it thaw slightly at room temperature before you try to cut it.

I finished off my raw pumpkin pie slice with bits of the crust topping and some of the pumpkin pie spice used in the filling. The pumpkin pie spice I used is a blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice from Mountain Rose Herbs–a local herb, spice, and tea company. I’m certain you can find a similar pumpkin pie spice at your local grocery store, or you can even make your own blend with a combination of spices from the bulk section.

However you decide to embellish your delicious pumpkin pie, make sure to let me know! I’d love to hear from you with any suggestions or ideas. As for me, I’m going to go finish off the last slice of my pie and sip on a cup of coffee while I finish my homework. Happy autumn, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Fall Time is Food Time: Raw Pumpkin Pie Recipe

  1. I saw that you wrote “3/4 raw milk”… Do you mean 3/4 cup raw milk?

    Also, I have been using the same canned pumpkin lately, and I am very surprised to find that it is raw. I totally thought it was cooked, as it has a very mushy “cooked” texture to it. The can does not say whether it is cooked or raw… So I guess my question is how do you know it’s raw?
    <3

    • Thank you for your comment, Belle!

      Yes, that should say 3/4 cup raw milk. Thanks for pointing that typo out! I initially was unsure if the pureed pumpkin from Farmers Market Foods was cooked or not. However, before I used it in my recipe, I called to check. While it is quickly blanched before it is pureed, the pumpkin is not cooked. If you’re concerned about keeping this “Raw Pumpkin Pie Recipe” as legitimately raw as possible, you can always puree 15oz. of raw pumpkin from your local grocery store and use that instead! Either way, I’m sure it will please your taste buds. I hope this clarifies everything.

      Enjoy!

    • Hi, Cassie! I’ve never pureed pumpkin without cooking it first. I imagine that all you would need to do is scoop out the inside of the pumpkin, cut it up into small pieces, and blend it or process it in a food processor. Though, it might not be soft enough to do this without cooking it first. If you find out please let me know!

    • Hi, Danik! It’s been a long time. Actually, those are my friend Lina’s plates. She happens to have the same set. Hope all is well! Take care.

Leave a Reply

