Giving Sweet Potatoes a Second Bite

As fall leaves turn magnificent shades of yellow, orange and red, and sweet potatoes are a plenty; I relish in the beauty of the changing leaves, but I wish to run away to a distant land where sweet potatoes were nonexistent. Their sometimes iridescent orange hue makes me think they come from a different planet where orange fleshed vegetables are rampant.  Even though their color threw me for a spin, it would be their taste that was ultimately off-putting.  I can’t wrap around my head around their inherent sweetness.  I have tried many different sweet potato recipes, but they have failed to tempt me to eat more than one bite.

As I have been vegan for over four years now, I want to try new things and taste every vegetable and fruit available to me. I have now come to my senses, and I have decided to give sweet potatoes one more try since people seem to love them and they are very nutritious. I decided to test out two vegan sweet potato recipes that aren’t your typical casserole or dessert recipes.

Sweet Potato Casserole

First, I tried a recipe for vegan Sweet Potato Macaroni and Cheese from the blog Glow Kitchen!  I was skeptical if this recipe would deliver a vegan mac and cheese that would be memorable and tasty.  I was so wrong!  The sweet potato lended its slight sweetness and creaminess to a wonderfully sweet and tangy mac and cheese which I would shortly devour. Lemon juice cuts through the sweetness of the potato making it much milder for my taste buds to handle. As for the texture, this is not your typical creamy mac because you are incorporating the sweet potato’s consistency.  I can’t speak more highly of this dish.  I can even say this one dish may have converted me to a sweet potato fiend.

I didn’t want to jump to conclusions too soon, so I tried one more sweet potato dish.  This recipe came from the Happy. Healthy. Life.  Blog and it was Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers.  I was the most excited for this recipe because I am a lover of any and all good, nutritious veggie burgers.  There were some problems with this recipe from the start, as far as consistency.  Ultimately, I could barely taste the sweet potato in the burgers, which defeated the purpose of my exploration.  I think with some tweaking and a different ratio of beans to sweet potatoes it will be a great recipe.  I didn’t lose hope for sweet potatoes after trying this dish, it just ignited my passion for trying more things that I dislike.

Sweet Potato Burger

I will continue to explore the unique taste of sweet potatoes. It’s wonderful that they are in season, and I get to try them at their best. As for all of you, incorporate something you may dislike in a couple of different recipes and your taste buds might be pleasantly surprised by the result.  Grub Goal #15 I can check off the list.

6 thoughts on “Giving Sweet Potatoes a Second Bite

  1. Pingback: pearltrees • cpieprzyk • Sweet Potatoes • Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes « Straddle The White Line

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato in Sugar or Jaggery Syrup « ãhãram

  3. Pingback: Raw Almond Milk is the Perfect Homemade Gift for the Holidays | Slow Food: University of Oregon

  4. Pingback: Giving Sweet Potatoes a Second Bite | Slow Food: University of Oregon « Straddle The White Line

  5. Pingback: Sweet Potato Burgers « Andrea's Garden Cooking

Leave a Reply

